The Two New Led Zeppelin Remasters, Etc.

PagePlantKenCen

This article from the U.K.’s legendary pub New Musical Express (NME) got me thinking about buying another one of the Led Zeppelin remasters, as IV and Houses of the Holy come out on Oct. 27 >>> http://www.nme.com/news/led-zeppelin/80085#g6BxkTF5uvXGHw7i.99

I’ve only purchased one of the first three (the band’s first three albums) so far, the debut album. The only reasons I bought it were my curiousity, and because it came with a live album that was recorded at the Paris Olympia around the time the band was gaining traction. It’s good stuff and I’m glad to have it. The other two albums had alternate takes to the various tracks, different edits, etc., and weren’t always complete songs.

However, I’m wondering how glad I’d be if I bought LZII/LZIII, too; they didn’t have a live album, just an extra disc of alternate takes to the various tracks, different edits, etc., and they weren’t always complete songs.I remember reading (somewhere) many years ago that the reason that previous Zep reissues didn’t have much in the way of bonus material was that the band issued most of what it recorded back in the day. That said, so much for a Zep anthology set, a la that of the Beatles.

Of course, the improved sound quality is nice, However, but I can enjoy a 45 of “D’yer Maker” (if my turntable was still working, anyway — ahhh, that scatchy vinyl) just as easily as I can “Communication Breakdown” from the new re-issue I bought a couple of months ago. Which begs the question:

“Do I really need to hear 1 minute and 38 seconds of ‘Moby Dick,’ etc., from the bonus disc that comes with the second Zep album?”

I can see where audiophiles, musicians and completists would opt to take that route, and I realize that Jimmy Page has worked quite hard on offering the fans what the band has left in the vault to give.

As for a possible three-way Zep reunion, I’d be glad to attend given the chance, even if it isn’t 1976 anymore. But I can see where Page is coming from — I think we all know the Bob Plant’s voice ain’t what it was. And I’m curious about this new band that Page is putting together.

Neither party seems to be saying never, especially Plant, of course. But if it really is over, I can handle that. The band that was born of the remnants of my beloved Yardbirds did leave us with the Page/Plant (they’re pictured above from the night they were honored at the Kennedy Center, and Page was interviewed by my man Jeff Krulik for a key moment in his great film, “Led Zeppelin Played Here”) tour 20 years ago, the O2 Arena CD/DVD/Blu-Ray set a few years back — and an unforgettable legacy that’s been matched by few.

Leave a Reply

